.:: Sephora and Kiehl’s Haul ::.

Sephora Haul

I go through phases, when I’m into clothes, i’m INTO clothes, when I’m into shoes, I’m INTO shoes. And now i’m back into makeup. Well, I only wear the basics most days, but as I was shopping for a special occasion I found myself being drawn into one thing, and one quickly becomes two, and three, and four.. Bad habit, I know. But I recently cleared out my old stash and got rid of a few old things that are way too old and it felt liberating, it feels right to start afresh with a few new things. I’ve promised myself I would be good and would not get more than the basics, the stuff I would use on a regular basis. Having said that, I allowed myself to splurge a little bit at Sephora and Kiehl’s and invest on a few quality stuff that I would (hopefully) enjoy wearing and love to bits. So here’s what I got and a quick first impressions.

Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation Primer

This primer doesn’t have the smooth-siliconey feel which is the case with a lot of primers. I’m used to siliconey primers, so the fact that this doesn’t have the same feel had me having second thoughts. But I decided to give it a chance – especially coz after browsing around this one is quite a value for money. It is darn expensive but other brands offer the same price for much lesser product. I’m pretty pleasantly surprised at how this primer performs as I said, I’m used to siliconey primer and the non siliconey ones I’ve tried doesn’t do so well. This one, though, delivers. It feels lightweight and sinks in very quickly. I only need a pea-sized amount of it to cover my whole face and it holds up really well for four to five hours.

Laura Mercier Silk Creme Moisturizing Photo Edition Foundation in Bamboo Beige

This foundation has a medium to high coverage and as such is a great choice for long wear or special occasion. I would not use this on a day coz the great coverage means it does feel like you have something on and I’d like my skin to breathe more easily. Having said that, I definitely love the look it creates – flawless, smooth and almost poreless skin.

Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder

This powder foundation has a really smooth silky texture and that’s what makes me caved in in the first place. It comes in a wide range of color so there should be something for everyone, I asked the lovely lady at Sephora to color-match for me, and thankfully I did coz otherwise I would probably go something too light for my face – the shade I got actually looks dark on the pan but turns out to blend perfectly well with my skin shade.

Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder in Highlight

This baked highlighter powder is LOVE at first sight. I sotted it at Sephora and definitely wanted one, but I thought I would sleep on it. I went back the next day and of course they sold out – only a day after it was released according to the sales assistant. They kindly referred me to go to the counter at David Jones, and so I did. And luckily they had it! What I love about it is that it gives a subtle glow without being glittery or shiny. I could get away wearing it even during day time, and it would just look like a healthy sheen. Some highlighter could look over the top that you could only use it on certain occasion, but this one is perfectly pretty.

Kat von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Mother

Love this thing as I mentioned on my Sunday Post here. It is easy to apply and dries down to a matte finish in pretty much an instant. And the color is oh so gorgeous! Seriously this could start a liquid lipstick craze, and I’ve already had my eyes on a few others. I’m still trying to be good though!

Kat von D vs Formula X Nail Polish in Tijuana

I generally don’t spend more than $10 on nail polish but I’ve been wanting to try Formula X in a while, and this collaboration with Kat von D collection has that beautiful classic red and I think I would get a lot of use out of it. The polish has a nice and easy-to-apply formula and I feel like I could get away with one coat, even though two coats give a more polished and shiny finish.

Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate

I love the Midnight Recovery Concentrate so much and I’m running out of day serum so I thought I would give this a go. As this product is intended for day use, I expected it to simply sink into the skin in an instant, which is not the case. It does feel like having a layer of oil on my face, though not as heavy as the Midnight Recovery Concentrate. But the good news, somehow it does work putting on makeup on my face, and it doesn’t look like I have oily skin.

And that’s a wrap for now! Time to hide my wallet!

3 thoughts on “.:: Sephora and Kiehl’s Haul ::.

Leave a Reply

