.:: { Books } How To Fall In Love – Cecelia Ahern ::.

How To Fall in Love

Where would be without tomorrows? What we’d have instead would be todays. And if that was the case, with you, I’d hope for the longest days for today I’d fill today with you, doing everything I’ve ever loved. I’d laugh, I’d talk, I’d listen and learn, I’d love, I’d love, I’d love. I’d make every day today and spend them all with you, and I’d never worry about tomorrow, when I wouldn’t be with you. And when that dreaded tomorrow comes for us, please know that I didn’t want to leave you, or be left behind, that every single moment spent with you were the best times in my life.

~ How To Fall in Love – Cecelia Ahern ~

What I find interesting about this book is the fact that both the main characters are a little bit broken in their own way. They are not perfect people out of fairy tales, they are normal people with real-life issues. Christine, a self-help book aficionado, lived an unhappy marriage and tried and tried, rather unsuccessfully, looking for her “happy place”. Adam was to inherit a big company and propose to her girlfriend, he didn’t want the job and his girlfriend cheated on him with his best friend. Adam was desperate and tried to commit suicide by jumping off Ha’penny Bridge. Christine stopped him and promised to show him that life was worth living and get his girlfriend back before his 35th birthday, which was due in two weeks. The problem was, Christine herself had no clue, and the two of them embarked on an adventure to fall back in love with life.

The thing about Cecelia Ahern’s books is they are not your regular chicklit, sometimes they are sprinkled with a little bit of magic or fantasy, sometimes it deals with real-life serious issues like suicide, which gives her books some depth but nonetheless a heartwarming and enjoyable read. I was obsessed with this book soon after I started reading, I couldn’t put this book down! Both Christine and Adam are not perfect but it made the story  felt even more realistic. The plot was predictable but I could not help not cheering for Christine. It’s another big hit by Cecelia Ahern and I now really want to grab her other books I haven’t read.

Leave a Reply

