.:: { Kitchen } The Oatmeal Challenge Day 1 – Banana Coconut Baked Oatmeal ::.

Every time I go to the kitchen to make oatmeal, I end up making the same thing over and over again. I like this Ovomaltine Strawberry Oatmeal, but it is time for some variation. So I challenge myself to try 7 different oatmeal recipes in 7 days. I’m hoping to try different things – porridge, baked, overnight, and hopefully muffins or cookies. Let’s see how this goes, shall we?

I started the challenge with Banana & Coconut Baked Oatmeal. This is the first time I ever tried baked oatmeal, and oh the joy of not having to stand over the stove stirring the oatmeal every few minutes! I like the slightly crunchy topping, it makes me feel like digging into a bowl dessert rather than oatmeal. It doesn’t taste as sweet as I prefer, so I would probably add a little bit of sugar next time when I want something sweet.

Banana Coconut Baked Oatmeal

Banana Coconut Baked Oatmeal

1 banana, mashed
1/3 cup + 2 tbs milk
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp cinnamon
A pinch of salt
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup fine desiccated coconut

1. Preheat oven to 175 degree Celcius.

2. In a bowl, add banana, milk, vanilla extract, cinnamon and salt. Mix together with a spoon.

3. Add rolled oats and desiccated coconut, mix until combined.

4. Transfer into a ramekin and bake for 20 minutes. Top with additional coconut and serve.

Leave a Reply

