.:: January Bits and Pieces ::.

I know we’re well into February, but I took quite a few pictures of the daily bits and bobs last month and I thought I would share some. Anyway, I personally can’t believe it’s February! I feel like I’m still trying to get back into the swing of things and pick up the usual routines. Where did time fly?

Brisbane NY Fireworks

2014 started with a bang – spent the new year’s eve in Brisbane watching the fireworks. I’m such a huge fan of fireworks and wouldn’t miss any chance to watch one.

Brisbane NY Fireworks

I didn’t quite believe it when they said it was going to be the biggest one ever ( isn’t it something you say every year? ), but after watching the 10-minute session, I had to agree. It was great, so much better than last year’s – and last year’s was good, this year they took it to another level. It was quite something! Especially love the parts where the fireworks were in-sync with the music!

Granola

Made healthy homemade granola for breakfast. Now that I think about it, I need to make some more! It’s great with yogurt or milk, or just as snacks really!

Anzac Square

Getting back to work after a year-end break wasn’t easy, but that also means going back to having lunch at the park which allows for some alone and people-watching time.

Lychee

Summer = lychee. One thing I love about summer is the abundance of fresh fruit – stone fruits, lychees and mangoes are my absolute favorite.

Fresh Berries

I always make it a point to snatch some fresh premium strawberries when I make a trip to the farmer’s market. Always the freshest and juiciest strawberries in Brisbane. Also managed to snatch the last box of raspberry at a great deal.

Spaghetti & Grissini

First attempt at grissini, and I’m quite happy with the result. Will definitely attempt another batch – I’m thinking, rosemary and sea salt grissini sounds great.

Boy Meets Girl

Cutest wine label ever!

Big Breakfast

Typical weekend big breakfast – when I’m in the mood to make some, that is!

Kangaroo Point

Lately I’ve been making a detour on my way home from work – making myself have an afternoon stroll. Even though it’s to light to be called exercise, but it’s better than nothing, right?

San Churro

Birthday brunch! I didn’t intend to go to San Churro for my birthday, because we were just there a few weeks before, but they give free churro on the day of your birthday – who could say no? Churro was good, but the highlight of the day was the macaron ice cream sandwich. Let’s take a moment to appreciate the size of that macaron!

Maru

For the birthday dinner, we went for a Korean barbeque.

Origins Birthday Haul

Birthday haul!

Craft Project Basket

I found a couple of collapsible fabric baskets from Daiso. Used one to corral all the stuff for my current craft project.

Bedside Necessities

And another one for the bedside necessities. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any more of these when I went back.

Daiso Haul

A little Daiso haul for my upcoming kitchen experiments – and craft project.

Almond Twist

Guilty pleasure from the bakery – almond twist. Perfect perfect accompaniment for a weekend afternoon coffee.

Grill'd

Haven’t had a burger in quite some time. And this one from Grill’d is pretty good. And it was free!

Selma

Arm candy..

Chicken & Mushroom Lasagna

Trying out something new from the market – Chicken & mushroom lasagna. Delicious! I need to make my own version of this dish.

4 thoughts on “.:: January Bits and Pieces ::.

Leave a Reply

