.:: { Kitchen } Banana Oatmeal Cookie ::.

The idea of banana cookie has been lingering on my mind for quite some time, as I have bananas almost all the time and every once in a while I would find myself with leftover overripe bananas on my kitchen counters. I chose this recipe because it contains spices and oatmeal and all these just sound too delicious combined. The steps don’t sound like a standard cookie procedure – if there’s such a thing – and I was a bit skeptical, but I took my chances and the dough turned out alright. The resulting “cookie” is hardly a cookie, with moist and cake-y texture, it’s more like banana bread in a cookie form – but I don’t see it as a bad thing. If anything, it’s even more portable than banana bread.

Banana Cookie

Banana Oatmeal Cookie
Adapted from Taste of Home

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2)
1-3/4 cups quick-cooking oats
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped almonds

1. In a bowl, combine the first six ingredients; beat in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add egg, bananas and oats; mix well. Stir in chips and nuts.

2. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto greased baking sheets. Bake at 190 degree Celcius for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks.

Leave a Reply

