.:: { Kitchen } Chicken Burrito & Quesadilla ::.

Burrito

I am currently slightly obsessed with Mexican food. Funny because when I first tried burrito at a Mexican place in Auckland a few years ago , I didn’t like it, I didn’t even finish my meal. But now, I would be making quesadilla and pico de gallo every other week and would still crave for Mexican all the time.

Chicken Quesadilla

I love a good burrito, but this is the first time making it myself. I’m quite happy with the result, but it takes quite a bit of an effort, so I think I’ll stick with quesadilla. For the quesadilla, I normally keep it simple, chicken and cheese and that’s it. Served with a bowlful of refreshing pico de gallo, it makes such an easy weekend comfort food. I also like to make my version of spicy tomato sauce, I’m pretty sure it’s not authentic as I totally made up the recipe. But it works quite well altogether.

Chicken Quesadilla

Chicken Burrito & Quesadilla

1 chicken breast, cut into small cubes
1 tbs Olive oil
1 can pinto beans
Ready-to-use tortilla
Cooked brown rice

Taco Seasoning Mix
1 tbs chili powder
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp dried chili flakes

Pico de Gallo

2 tomatoes, chopped
Handful of coriander, chopped
1-2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
1/2 onion, chopped
2 tsp lime juice

Spicy Tomato Sauce
1 tbs olive oil
1 tomato, chopped
2 tsp taco seasoning mix

1. For the taco seasoning, mix all ingredients together until well combined.

2. Marinate chicken with taco seasoning for at least 15 minutes. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add chicken and cook until chicken is cooked through and slightly charred.

3. For the pico de gallo, mix all ingredients together until well combined, chill in the fridge until serving time.

4. For the spicy tomato sauce, heat oil in a small saucepan. Add tomato and cook until softened, stir in taco seasoning.

5. Heat tortillas according to packet instructions. To make burrito, place rice onto warmed tortilla. Top with chicken, pinto bean, pico de gallo and spicy tomato sauce. Fold the bottom of the tortilla up over the filling then fold the sides in and roll up from the bottom.

6. To make quesadilla, spread chicken and cheese onto tortilla and fold over. Grill and cut into wedges. Serve with pico de gallo and spicy tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

