.:: { Kitchen } Pasta with Meatballs & Red Wine Sauce ::.

A weekend spent trying out new great recipes is a weekend well spent in my dictionary. I made some homemade meatballs last weekend. I like making a big batch of meatballs then freezing them in small portions for quick and easy dinner. This is a recipe I always refer to when making Italian meatballs, I love this one as it is easy and never fails to result in tender and juicy meatballs. I even skip the cheese sometimes, when I don’t have any, and the result is still great!

Then this weekend I had a bottle of red wine opened. And that definitely called for red wine sauce ( and luckily I had just enough wine left to make this recipe ). I’m really happy with this result. The red wine adds such richness and beautiful depth of flavor to the sauce, this recipe is definitely a keeper. I imagine this would be even better with fresh basil, unfortunately I didn’t have any. Oh well, I will surely make sure I have some next time I’m making this sauce.

Pasta with Meatballs and Red Wine Sauce

Pasta with Meatballs & Red Wine Sauce

Pasta of your choice, I used whole grain penne

Meatballs ( makes 40 meatballs ) – adapted from Easy Pasta
500 gr minced beef
200 gr breadcrumb
3 eggs
50 gr freshly grated cheese
2 tbs dried oregano
3 tbs olive oil
Salt & pepper to taste

Red Wine Sauce
1 can diced tomato
2 tbs olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbs dried oregano
2 tsp dried chili flakes
Salt & pepper to taste
1/2 cup red wine
1 carrot, finely chopped

1. To make the meatballs, combine all ingredients with your hands. Shape into balls and put in a single layer on a baking sheet covered with foil. Roast for 10 minutes, turn, then roast for a further 6-7 minutes.

2. To make the sauce, heat oil in a saucepan.Add minced garlic and sautee for 2-3 minutes until softened and starting to turn golden. Pour tomatoes and stir. Cook for 5-10 minutes. Add oregano and chili flakes, and season with salt and pepper. Stir in red wine and simmer on low heat for 20 minutes. Add carrots and cook for a further 10 minutes.

3. Cook pasta until al dente, drain well and portion into platters, pour sauce and meatballs over pasta.

Leave a Reply

