.:: { Kitchen } Taro Cake ::.

Taro Cake

One Friday afternoon, I went to an Asian supermarket determined to get something different – I didn’t know what yet, but I wanted something I don’t usually find or buy. Then I saw a package of frozen taro roots – mission accomplished! I’ve never made anything using taro before, so I was really excited. Only afterwards that I found out that it wasn’t easy to find a recipe for taro cake. Most of the ones I could find are basic sponge cake with taro filling, but that wasn’t what I wanted. I finally adapted this recipe – which actually uses purple yam – and made some adjustments and hoped for the best.

Fortunate for me, although I changed the recipe quite a bit, the resulting cake was a success. The cake is fluffy and moist and has a light texture of a sponge cake, and the steamed taro gives a distinctly sweet flavor. Delicious, extremely delicious. If you’re a fan of taro, then you definitely need to try this recipe!

Taro Cake

Taro Cake
Adapted from Kirbie Cravings

2 cup mashed steamed taro roots, leave some in small chunks to add texture to the cake
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
150 gr butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
4 tbs vegetable oil
2 cups plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
a few drops of red food coloring
a few drops of blue food coloring
flaked almonds, for topping

1. Preheat oven to 175′ C.

2. Combine mashed taro, milk and vanilla extract. Set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

4. Cream butter and sugar together until well combined. Add eggs, one at a time and blend after each addition. Add oil and food coloring, mix to combine.

5. Add the flour mixture in two or three additions, alternating with the taro mixture, whisk until well-combined with each addition.

6. Pour batter into a baking dish. Top with flaked almonds.

7. Bake for 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted come out clean.

**Note: I’m linking up this post to Flamingo Toes and Natasha in Oz

Leave a Reply

