.:: { Kitchen } Eggless Strawberry Yogurt Cake ::.

I saw some fresh and luscious strawberries on sale at the supermarket the other day, and they were the freshest I’ve seen in quite some time! Having an ongoing love for strawberries, I instantly grabbed two punnets. I love eating them raw – fresh is the best – however I was in the mood to bake something and wanted to incorporate these wonderful strawberries into a cake. I’ve never tried one before but I browsed and browsed and stumbled upon this awesome blog, Chef In You, which has so many wonderful recipes, a lot of eggless and yogurt cakes, vegan recipes and countless others – many of which I can’t wait to try myself.

Eggless Strawberry Yogurt Cake

One particular recipe suitable for my strawberry-cake-mission today is this eggless strawberry cake – and not only it is eggless, it uses yogurt in place of milk. I have always wanted to try making a yogurt cake, so this was the perfect time to do so! And… I love it! It has a very moist sponge-like texture ( I think it might be a little bit too moist for some people, but I personally think it’s great ), and a delicious taste new to my taste buds. The yogurt lends a subtle tangy taste, and the bits of strawberries only adds to its flavorful taste. This recipe is, without a doubt, a keeper. And I can see myself baking other yogurt cakes in the near future!

Eggless Strawberry Yogurt Cake

Eggless Strawberry Yogurt Cake
Adapted from Chef In You

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
1-3/4 tbsp vegetable oil
2/3 cup caster sugar
1-1/2 tbsp sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup fat free Greek Yogurt mixed with little water
1 generous cup fresh strawberries, sliced thinly

1. Preheat oven to 175°C with rack in middle, grease cake pan. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
2. Beat butter,oil and 2/3 cup sugar with an electric mixer at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes, then beat in vanilla.
3. Gently, mix in flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with yogurt, beginning and ending with flour, and mixing until just combined. Do not over beat the batter. Fold in the chopped strawberries.
4. Spoon batter into cake pan, smoothing top.
5. Scatter sliced strawberries evenly over top and sprinkle with remaining 1 1/2 tbsp sugar.
6. Bake until cake is golden and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

2 thoughts on “.:: { Kitchen } Eggless Strawberry Yogurt Cake ::.

Leave a Reply

