.:: { Beauty } Real Techniques Core Collection ::.

   Real Techniques Core Collection

Real Techniques Core Collection is a set containing four brushes which are useful for everyday makeup application. The brushes don’t come with flat wide handles on the bottom, like the individual brushes – hence it doesn’t stand up as easily as those individual ones.

Real Techniques Core Collection

It comes with a simple black casing which could turn into something like a brush stand. The casing is great for traveling, but I don’t find much use of the stand. As with the other Real Technique brushes, the bristles are soft and don’t poke on my skin and they make these brushes such a pleasure to use. Another good thing about Real Techniques brushes is each one has its name printed on the brush on its handle, so in case you can’t remember what brush it is, you can easily refer to the writings.

Real Techniques Buffing Brush

Buffing Brush

I use this brush for liquid foundation – in turns with Expert Face Brush and Stippling Brush. Its wide rounded bristles allow for a quick application of foundation. The bristles are not as dense as the Expert Face Brush and thus it gives a lighter finish. This brush buffs and sheers out product into the skin easily and quickly, although the rounded shape means it reaches the nooks and crannies of my face less easily compared to Expert Face Brush. I prefer Expert Face Brush to the Buffing Brush, however it does a good job for when I want a more natural finish and I’m very happy having this one in my small collection.

Real Techniques Contour Brush

Contour Brush

At first, I didn’t think I would like this brush, because its size is rather on the small side. But it turns out to be my favorite brush compared to the other ones in the set, and one I reach out on a daily basis. I find the size fits right in to the contours of my face, which makes contouring super easy and quick! The bristles – like all Real Techniques brushes – are soft and the tapered sides help in blending products without requiring a lot of effort.

Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush

Pointed Foundation Brush

I dislike flat foundation brush, and this one is even worse because it’s so tiny. I don’t use it for all over foundation application for those reasons, but I find that it works great for applying under-eye concealer, because the small size means it fits the small area under the eye and the pointed shape allows for spot on application.

Real Techniques Detailer Brush

Detailer Brush

Now this one is the one brush that I like the least, just because I don’t really know what to use it for. I think it’s recommended for concealer or lip brush, but I hardly use concealer aside from under-eye concealer and this one is too small for that purpose – I much prefer the Pointed Foundation Brush for that purpose. I also don’t use a lip brush on a regular basis – if ever. I tried using this for eyeshadow, it works quite good for precise application for outer-v shadow – but it’s not the first brush I reach for for that purpose.

Real Techniques Core Collection

All in all, this set is a good one to have if you’re starting out with Real Techniques brushes and gives you several brushes to try out.

Leave a Reply

