.:: { Books } January Reads ::.

Lately I have kept going back to my favorite pastime, reading books. Considering how much ( too much! ) I’ve enjoyed light, young-adult books the last couple of years, I’ve been trying to branch out a little bit and start reading different sort of books ( while still throwing some YAs in the mix ). Not that I hadn’t been reading these types of books before, it’s just I’m running a little behind after all those YA books! And I feel it’s finally a good time to catch up.

The Age of Miracles

The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson
The life as Julia knows it ends when the scientists declares the earth’s rotation begins slowing. The days grow longer, the gravity, the weather, the animals are affected. But not only does the 11-year-old girl has to cope with apocalyptic events, she also has to deal with her family breaking apart, her best friend going away and of course, her first love.

I like the whole post-apocalyptic idea, and how it tells the story of how people try to cope with it. However, the scientific details are not thorough, just a few mentions here and there. Which probably makes sense, because it’s told from an 11-year-old point of view. But it leaves me craving for more details! The ending seems a bit rushed and again, not too detailed, but it’s a good ending.

The Long Earth

The Long Earth – Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter
The story centers in the existence of parallel worlds similar to earth, the difference being the sequence of events shaping our earth – like asteroids that killed dinasours. A blueprint of a device called stepper is made available online and people are starting to make their own and venture into the worlds. There are also natural steppers who can step between worlds without any device. Such is the main character in the book, Joshua Valiente – who is due to a certain events in the past, joined forces with Lobsang, a conciousness of a human inside of a computer – if you know what I mean, human, but a computer – and ventures into these parallel worlds as well. In their journey, they discover various species, including trolls and humanoids which are fleeing across the worlds as if they are trying to get away from something. And here’s where Joshua and Lobsang true journey begins.

A great sci-fi concept, however I found the ending to be so abrupt. For me, it hasn’t really reached a climax, and then bam! it just ends. It is disappointing, but I heard there’s a plan for a second book. Phew, I hope it comes out soon! Overall, I’d say the book, especially the first three-fourth of the book, is really enjoyable and worth checking out. Having not read science-fiction in a really long time, I’m suddenly in a mood to find more interesting science-fiction books to read next.

The Silver Linings Playbook

The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick
I found out about this book after watching the all-star movie trailer, and seeing how it has garnered a lot of award nominations, I was simply curious. It tells a story about Pat Peoples who just got out of mental institution, and forever trying to improve himself so that “apart time” is over and his wife would come back to him. Along the way, he met depressed Tiffany who tried to “scout” him to be her dance partner for Dance Away Depression. There is a little bit of a love story, but I think it’s more about Pat’s reconnecting with his family and friends.

The book is very well-written that you would feel immediately connected to the main character – I found it really hard to picture Bradley Cooper as Pat at first, but progressing through the book I can finally imagine him as Pat. On the contrary, I couldn’t sympathize with the female character, Tiffany. The book doesn’t say a lot about her, and the little story about her couldn’t make me care about her at all. That being said, I could hardly put it down once I started, I really enjoyed reading this book. I really can’t wait to watch the movie!

Selection

Selection – Kiera Cass
America Singer is one of the thirty-five girls selected to win the heart of the gorgeous prince of Illea ( a post-apocalyptic USA ), Maxon. It’s not such a blessing to her as she has given her heart to someone else. It’s not very hard to guess where the story goes. Cliche, yes. Predictable, very. Cheesie, yes – but still bearable. A post-apocalyptic story which a lot of people seem to relate to The Hunger Games. Some things definitely reminds me of The Hunger Games, although I’m not sure if it’s a good thing – like the Gavril character which is a lot like Caesar. It’s probably not the best book out there, but I would consider it a nice light read.

Leave a Reply

